WWW Ahoy!

March 14, 2011 at 5:32 am (Uncategorized)

Ok first piece of XHTML coding under my belt – My first website

Admittedly its far from spectacular but Rome wasn’t built in a day! Watch this space….

The code

Just thought I would quickly run down the applications and web hosting I’m currently using:

TextWrangler
Seems like the obvious choice for a text editor on a Mac. Firstly, the university Macs have this software installed. I would rather be comfortable on one editor rather than attempting to learn numerous. The program is freeware : ). Also the majority of my research recommends TextWrangler:

http://mac.appstorm.net/roundups/office-roundups/top-10-mac-text-editors/

http://sixrevisions.com/tools/12-excellent-free-text-editors-for-coders/

http://download.cnet.com/TextWrangler/3000-2351_4-10220012.html

NearlyFreeSpeech.net
Deservedly recommended by Oanh and Viveka. Clear and simple hosting were you only pay for the web space you actually use. Pricing starts at at $0.01/day for a dynamic websites. The company’s website (FAQ, polices etc) appear to be honest and informative (the power of branding…). Hosting allows PHP which I imagine my final project will utilise.

Transmit
After spending the morning using the functions on Cyperduck I decided to opt for Transmit as my FTP software. Cyperduck comes highly recommended on the internet. Unfortunately the software consistently crashed on my machine … Force quit …. Force quit. After browsing the NearlyFreeSpeech members FAQ for a solution I noticed they advise problems with Cyperduck (and Filezilla!) with their hosting. Back to the drawing board.. Luckily I remembered Alistair in last weeks video lecture used the software Transmit. The software is distributed by Panic and since downloading the program I thankfully haven’t encountered any problems. The only drawback is the price, $34. I have seven days (trial period) to make a decision. I’ll keep you posted.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

